The 5 Stages of Grief

Finding out you have a disease that isn’t curable is a bitter pill to swallow. The steps to get back to the place you were before it struck you, can feel so far away; it’s a hopeless feeling. I was scared, and turned to to the resource I know best… the internet. I started watching videos, reading blogs, articles, everything to calm my mind from the whirlwind of emotions I was going through. I stumbled across a video that talked about dealing with your initial diagnosis. She talked about how people often handle it by going through the 5 stages of grief.

  1. DENIAL. The feeling that this can’t possibly be happening.
  2. ANGER. The frustration that overwhelms you. Why is this happening to ME?
  3. BARGAINING. The yearn to regain the control you feel like you’ve lost. If I did something differently, would I be healthy right now?
  4. DEPRESSION. A feeling known all too well by people who deal with chronic illnesses such as Psoriatic Arthritis.
  5. ACCEPTANCE. The hardest stage of them all. The willingness to accept what is happening, to turn your new leaf, and find the way to live your life accompanied with what you have been dealt with.

If you asked me, I’m not sure which stage I’m at. If it’s possible, I suppose I’ve been hit by every single one in some form or another since I started dealing with this. Although I’ve already had to make changes in my life because of this, I know the one thing I want to hold onto throughout this journey is positivity. There will be days that are harder than others (today was a harder one) but I want to hold on to the hope that I can, and will reach a time where there are a whole lot more good days, than bad ones.

When referring to psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis there are some terms that describe the ups and downs of how it presents itself. A FLARE is a period of time that refers to a lot of extreme pain. It’s an agitated state of the disease where it feels the worst and most painful… these are the bad days. REMISSION is a period of time that refers to the best kind of days, the good ones! It is when the PsA (psoriatic arthritis) or psoriasis calms down and can even go away completely for a while.

This is the name of my blog: Road to Remissions. If you want to join me on the good AND bad days, I’m going to write about my road to those remissions. I want to live my best life, with the most good days as I can get. I’ll be writing about my treatments, exercise, diet and overall life changes that I make to compensate with this new diagnosis. This blog is an outlet for me, maybe even a step closer to the stage of ACCEPTANCE. REMISSION is a period of time that refers to the best kind of days, the good ones! It is when the PsA (psoriatic arthritis) or psoriasis calms down and can even go away completely for a while.

Thanks for reading,

Maya xx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑